NYSCA 2014 Spring Convention Highlights

The NYSCA at its annual convention at Mohegan Sun (Uncasville, CT) presented a robust educational forum that highlight changes in healthcare and the potential role for chiropractic.

Friday afternoon began with Dr. John Ventura (NYSCA District 15 member, former ACA alternate delegate, board member WHG) laying the groundwork for the chiropractor as primary spine care provider. He presented evidence for the qualifications of chiropractic, the interaction of the stakeholders and current platforms in which this is already occurring.

Saturday morning included newly elected ACA President Dr. Anthony Hamm leading an informative and well received introduction to ICD 10 coding, which takes effect on 10/01/2014. Dr. Hamm is the co-chair of the AMA’s RVS Update Committee (RUC) Health Care Professionals Advisory Committee Review Board (HCPAC) and has lectured extensively on coding and documentation.

Saturday’s annual luncheon featured a dynamic keynote address by ACA immediate past president and Connecticut native Dr. Keith Overland. In his address, Dr. Overland highlighted some of ACA’s activities including maintaining section 2706 of the health care reform law which prevents health plans from arbitrarily excluding the participation and coverage of entire categories of providers based solely on their licensure. The law enables patients to receive care from any provider who is licensed in a state to provide a specific benefit covered through an exchange health plan; working with the VA and DOD to expand chiropractic services and establish residency programs for chiropractors in the VA system; meeting with CMS to begin obtaining increased coverage for chiropractic services in the Medicare system, beginning with E&M codes. He enthusiastically supported the continued relationship between the NYSCA and the ACA and explained the need for these affiliations and how the interplay between the states and the national organization strength our small profession and allow us to pool our resources as we move forward in the healthcare arena

Following his address, Dr. Overland was awarded the NYSCA Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing his contributions to the chiropractic profession. Dr. Overland is the immediate past president of the American Chiropractic Association. He has also served on ACA’s Health Care Reform Task Force as well as served as co- chair of the Connecticut Governors Committee on Physical Fitness, a member of Sen. Joseph Lieberman’s Health Care Task Force and a member of Rep. Christopher Shays’ Task Force on Human Services. He is the past president of both the Connecticut Chiropractic Association and the New England Chiropractic Council.

Mrs. Carol Beige was awarded an Outstanding Service Award for her many years of dedicated service with the NYSCA.

Also honored were the following doctors for 50 years in practice: Dr. John Pellegrino, Dr. Henry Keidel, Dr. Robert Gregory, Dr. Paul Muscolino, and Dr. Seymore Mac Goldstein.


Share this post: